||It was the architect
William Adam who was initially commissioned to design and build the
existing house at Mellerstain. Work began in 1725, but by the time
George Baillie died in 1738, only the two wings had been completed.
The central portion of the house remained unbuilt.
The estate passed to George Baillie's grandson,
George Hamilton, second son of the Earl of Haddington, who changed
his name to Baillie when he inherited Mellerstain. He commissioned
William Adam's famous son, Robert, to complete the building of Mellerstain,
which he did between 1770 and 1778.
Surviving drawings suggest that Robert Adam
intended to modify the wings designed by his father, but this work
was never carried out. The exterior was slightly altered at a later
date, when the main entrance was rebuilt in the style of the William
The interior boasts some of Robert Adam's
finest work. The library is particularly outstanding, and the plaster
ceiling in this room is one of his masterpieces. The interior also
includes marble busts by Roubiliac, one of which represents Lady